T Nation

Weight Gain concern on Starting Strength

Hey guys, I am new to this forum. My main goal is to gain a lot of strength. I am 5'10 and my starting weight was 145 lbs. So, I've been doing Starting Strength for over 6 months now and currently weigh 165 lbs. My bench has gone from 95 lbs. x 5 to 170 lbs. x5. My squat has gone from 150 lbs. x 5 to 275 lbs. x 5. My deadlift has gone from 185 lbs. x 5 to 340 lbs. x 5. My OH Press has gone from 75 lbs. x 5 to 120 lbs. x 5. I know that Rippetoe has said that by the end of the program, you should have added a total of 40-50 lbs. of bodyweight on you within 6-9 months. However, that's seems to be a bit too much bodyweight to add on within less than a year.

In fact, according to other legit resources on weightlifting and nutrition that I've looked up before, they say that newbies can expect to only gain at the very most approx. 20 (if you're genetically lucky) of pure muscle tissue within 1 year. I know that putting on some degree of excess fat from having a caloric surplus is needed to promote optimal muscle growth, but if as a newbie I gained 40-50 lbs. of weight on me by the end of the 6-9 months on this program, then I will have gained about 15-20 lbs. of lean mass (including muscle, water, bone, and connective tissue) and 25-35 lbs. of fat on me. So, do I really need to add another 20-30 lbs. of weight within the next 3 months to continue making significant strength gains on the program?

What does the mirror tell you? Let your results dictate your actions.

x2.

OP, you are correct that adding 40-50 pounds in a year will undoubtedly include some fat gain. If staying lean is a priority, then you certainly can seek a cleaner bulking process, even that means slightly slower strength gains. The key thing is what dt79 just said - don't go by some magic number you read in a book, go by what's actually happening with your body.