T Nation

Weight Gain Advice?

With the excess of information floating around out there I figured I'd just hop on here to get first-hand accounts of what really works. I'll throw up some background info then get to the point.

Height: 5'10"
Weight: 140-150
Daily Cal Intake: ~3000
I've been working out for about 6 years.

So here's the deal, I've been training for a long time so I've got a good base as far as technique and strength goes. But I've only ever trained for muscular endurance and never gave a rat's ass about size. Now my perspective has shifted. I go the 4th to pass my physical qualification for Navy SEALs.

No, I'm not expecting anything by then, but my goal is to gain at least 20-30lbs before I ship without losing my endurance. I know better than to train for endurance and size simultaneously.

More to the point: What's the fastest (or most reliable) way to build muscle, and is there any way to maintain my pst scores in the process? Any input constructive, destructive, whatever. It's all helpful.

There is no fastest way. Just consistent training/nutrition.

Eating a lot more is a pretty good start though.

True that!

Yea a caloric surplus is certainly needed. Try perfect rep training and tweak it to suit you. As long as you do some mobility work, a few complexes, and some various energy systems work you should keep your endurance and agility while gaining.

A simple approach would be to copy a (good) football offseason program.

Thanks guys, much appreciated. I found an off-season football workout that I'm gonna try out. Now as far as more calories, how much should I shoot for? Because I assume if I take in enough, I'll still be able to do cardio without worrying about burning too many calories to where I wont gain. (Right, wrong?)

Maybe as little as 2 or 300 cals/day. Depends on the workload. I would do interval training or circuits for my cardio though. Just want to increase the heart rate not burn a bunch of cals.