T Nation

Weight Dilemma: Advice For An Ecto

Ive been lifting weights for about 7 years now (im 23) but really only for about 2-3 years seriously. Im 5'11" and currently range from about 175-180lbs, and have relatively low fat 12-15% or so.
Although, I feel that im in really good shape, and have developed a good amount of strength/power, I dont have the appearance of someone that is as dedicated as I am. Recently a co-worker even told me I look no different than i did five years ago. This was kinda a wake-up call for me. Building muscle isn't my main goal, but I would like to have the image of someone that workouts as i do.

Here's a little background info about myself.

When i started training at the age of 16-18, I was about 150lbs, now im about 175lbs. In the last year or two, i was able to get up to 195lbs, but the level of food needed to achieve/maintain this weight was greter than im willing to consume..

I consider myself an ectomorph, as ive always been skinny, but I also thing i have a large percentage of fast twitch fibers, because I do best at low rep/ power type training.

So thats my basic background info. I currently follow some of the different plans I have found on this site, and am a Kinesiology major, so I do understand a lot about training and health.

Ive been training 3-4 days/wk. All compound lifts, usually 4-6 exercises per workout, 3-7 sets of 3-10 reps.

Squat
Deadlift
DB snatch
Pullups
Rows
Bench
ETC.

I dont do any cardio really at the moment, but do enjoy HIIT type stuff.

I do have the feeling that I am still somewhat young, and in 5-10 years from now, maintaining weight will not be an issue for me.

What do you guys think. Should i just continue training for power and strength, and the muscle will come in time, or should I make some changes to my training/nutrition to gain now.

If im gonna eat more to gain weight, i'd only be willing to add 500-1000 cals/day, which has never seemed to lead to serious gains for me.