Weakness to Fitness - The Boy Who Just Started Lifting

Good day,

This isn’t my first time lifting but after a few years of hiatus due to medical school, I’m back lifting.

I studied and read a lot about lifting the last week while doing 5x10 of squat, bench and rows to keep wash away the soreness while making a routine. Why make a routine than just following one? Well, because I find it fun to make a routine and be somewhat accountable for the progress that I make.

About the Lifter

Beginner lifter, just out from medical school.
26y.o., 5’ 9.5", 165lbs
Calculated 1RM of SBD - 160/145/245 lbs
Nothing too fancy

Program Details

1. Bodybuilding Program
I made this from the backbone of IronBuff, which was inspired from Renaissance Periodization Men’s Physique Template. The program’s tenet is to work at volumes near your maximal recoverable volume to induce optimum growth.

2. Training split
Transformed it into a 6 Day Chest+Back, Shoulders+Arms, Legs x2.
Supersetting antagonistic muscles seems like a great way to reduce training time and increase work capacity.

3. Strength training
Integrated RTS for the strength exercises.

4. Autoregulation
The program is auto regulated. The back off sets and weights and reps are calculated based on my daily maxes. The number of sets I do per week is dependent on my performance the previous week. If ever I have an off day, the program recalculates everything so that I don’t hit a wall, if ever I have a good day, the program recalculates so that I can capitalize on that.

5. Lots and lots of volume
I’m going to try and aim for 20 sets for each muscle per week and I’ll be sore from it and I’m going to love it.

Diet