Weak Link or Just Plain Weak?

Hey Tanner,

How do you tell the difference between someone who has a weak link holding back a main lift and someone who just needs to keep building strength? I feel like my core and upper back are my limiters, but giving them extra attention doesn’t seem to make a difference.

For context, I’m 43 and have been lifting for 5ish years, but my Big Four have been static for at least half that time. I started lifting following 531 and have followed Christian Thibaudeau programs the past couple of years. Nutrition and sleep are on track.

Thanks for any help.

1 Like

Hey @darrenx

I’m so sorry for the late reply. Most times, if you want to bring up a specific lift, you just need to train that specific lift more often. If you’ve only been lifting for 5 years but your big 4 have been static for half that time, that shouldn’t be the case.

I really like the 5/3/1 program for beginner lifters, but I’ve found it more effective if you add in more reps to get extra volume. Most likely what you need is just to get in more reps of all the main lifts, then you could add in some accessory lifts to specifically help that lift:

ie.
back squat > pause back squat
Deadlift > deficit deadlift or deadlift w/pause on way up and down
bench press >paused bench press or weighted dips
overhead press>pin press or overhead barbell skull crushers

I would also recommend…doing a hypertrophy block instead of 5/3/1 where you are doing 12’s, 10’s, 8’s

Let me know if you have other questions

This is great, Tanner, and worth the wait.

I think you’re right about the needed volume. I’m running Thib’s Clusters program and, though the quality of my heavy reps on the Big 4 have improved considerably, the numbers haven’t really budged. Except for hip thrusts, which have been the main accessory lift done for volume, which have gone from 235x8 to 315x9 in 11 weeks. So, looks like the added volume helped.