We are Destroying the Only Home we Know

I feel we are on a suicidal course if we don’t step up and cut back on carbon emissions. I am not a climate scientist but I am rational enough to know that what they tell us is more than reasonable to believe. If a medical doctor told you that having heart surgery would give you a 90% chance of fixing a faulty heart who wouldn’t take those chances?

[quote]silee wrote:

I feel we are on a suicidal course if we don’t step up and cut back on carbon emissions. I am not a climate scientist but I am rational enough to know that what they tell us is more than reasonable to believe. If a medical doctor told you that having heart surgery would give you a 90% chance of fixing a faulty heart who wouldn’t take those chances?[/quote]

I am not a heart surgery patient but if my doctor is bullshitting me more than once I am getting a new one.

[quote]silee wrote:

I feel we are on a suicidal course if we don’t step up and cut back on carbon emissions. I am not a climate scientist but I am rational enough to know that what they tell us is more than reasonable to believe. If a medical doctor told you that having heart surgery would give you a 90% chance of fixing a faulty heart who wouldn’t take those chances?[/quote]

If the doc is a known liar.

[quote]Brother Chris wrote:

[quote]silee wrote:

If the doc is a known liar.[/quote]

Everybody lies, especially if it helps their cause or if they use some sort of “the ends justify the means” philosophy. There is a lot of money to be made in scaring the public. The same thing happened with a “global cooling” scare back in the 70’s. SPOILER ALERT: it was shown to be wrong and a lot of the proponents were shown to be using junk science. I am a physicist, not a climatologist, but I know when sensationalist claims are being for the sake of making money, and there is a lot of that going on here. I am not saying that all the research is junk, but some of the conclusions are faulty at best.