T Nation

Wave Loading

Wassup, T-Men. I am planning an intensification phase coming off an accumulation phase. I am looking to use a wave loading program, as it’s something I’ve never done before. I was thinking of using the 1-6 Principle originally proposed by the Coach, but modifying it to 2-5 because of the lack of a training partner (reliable spot). In an old Question of Strength column, I came across a 7-5-3 wave loading example, but Poliquin did not elaborate. I was wondering if any of you who have experience with a wave loading program wouldn’t mind sharing your experiences and thoughts. Thanks, guys.

Stay with the 1-6 Principle, but you are not supposed to max on the “1”. Go to 90-95% of 1RM. If you are an experienced lifter and know your body well enough, doing this without a training partner is not a problem. Otherwise, use a spotter. You can also use the 4-3-2-4-3-2 wave. You should be a little stronger on the 2nd wave. Make sure you are warmed up well before either. Both work well, but for me, I stopped making gains after the 5th or 6th workout.

JRR…thanks for the input, bud. I appreciate you clearing up the 1RM. I will probably go with the 1-6. Did you attempt to increase the weight in subsequent waves (when using the 1-6)? Or did you stay with the same weights for the required reps? Or did you just go with instinct (ie. you felt great on your first 1RM lift, so you upped the ante the next time around)? Also, I was planning on splitting as such: 1: Arms; 2:Quads and Hams; 3:Recovery; 4:Chest and Back; 5: Recovery; 6:Repeat. How did you split when utilizing this method? Thanks, JRR.

Timbo, use a load that you could handle for 2-3 reps on your singles. I would try to increase the loading in subsequent waves (+2-5%), so don’t kill yourself in the first wave. I am doing this program now, and the split I’m using is like yours except day 5 is rotator cuff and abs. I take day 6 off and repeat.