T Nation

Watershed Moment Today After 7 Year Battle

Ok. I’m a newbie here although I have lurked off and on through the years. I came to my GP doctor back in 2009 after my girlfriend started to notice that my verbal skills were diminishing. I had started to mix up my 3 daily languages and would call up my mom and speak my native language and not notice that I’d changed over to Italian for a sentence or two and my mom would be too flustered to say anything.
Anyhow, I felt like something that the cat had dragged in, always tired, couldn’t loose weight even if I did a week long fast and I would get sick if I went to the gym and worked out. We ran some blood tests after having had to convince them that “yes I may have a testosteron issue even though I have muscular shoulders and how can you say that men never have thyroid issues if you only run labs on women over 40 years of age”

My results in 2009 were like this:

Testosteron 6.2 nmol/l ( ref 10-30 )
SHBG 11 ( ref 18-57 )
Estradiol 61 ( ref <150 )
TSH 3.83 ( ref 0.4-4.0 )
T4 14 ( ref 9-22 )
T3 5.1 ( ref 2.5-5.6 )
Triglycerides 13.7 ! ( ref 0,45-2,6 )
T kolesterol 12.6 ( ref 3,3-6,9 )
gamma GT 3.97 ( ref <1.4 )

So it was quite clear that I had catastrophically low T, something was not a OK with my thyroid and I had non alcoholic fatty liver and my blood fats were more like someone had dipped the sample in to the fryer at McDonalds. My weight was 111kg ( 246lbs ) and 181 cm ( 5’11’’)