Waterbury + Staley = Good Idea?

Hey everyone. I’ve been doing nothing but Waterbury workouts for the past 8 months, and I’ve made some nice gains from them. But I’ve been thinking of giving EDT a try to mix things up. And since you’re not supposed to do EDT for too long, I was think of doing it for 4-6 weeks, then go back to TBT or WM.

Anyway, since I started using Chad’s routines, I can’t see myself NOT doing Total Body workouts. All of the sample EDT routines I have seen consist of bodypart splits. I think there’s an article that Coach Staley talked about “Fullbody lifts” in EDT, but without the same frequency as a Total Body workout.

I’ve been using various routines that I arrange following Chad’s articles on Program Design, as well as his book. I’ve basically been doing 3 total body workouts per week, using 6 movements (4 compound with 2 single joint OR 3 and 3), and each session has a different rep range/goal (maybe mon-6x4, wed-4x8, and fri-3x12.

So this is what I was wondering… Could you take those same parameters and apply them to EDT? Basically take your 6 movements that work your entire body and put them into 3 15 minute PR Zones. And instead of always using your 10RM starting with 5 reps, each session will have you using a different starting weight (mon-10RM, wed-15RM, fri-20RM). If that would be too much, what about taking those 6 movements down to 4, with 2 PR Zones per session? I DO want to try EDT, but I DON’T want to stop Total Body training.

Read me.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=1581161

Staley wrote an article on this exact subject.
http://www.T-Nation.com/readArticle.do?id=632710
Compound moves using EDT is very hard. IF you are going to do this , avoid pairing 2 big exercises together.