Waterbury PT 9/12 & 9/14

Let’s get to the bottom of things!

I am currently participating in Cross Fit. Cross Fit produces free workouts in a three days on, one day off split. The philosophy is to develop a well-rounded individual capable of being successful at many tasks, but not specializing in any one are of fitness. It combines aspects of novice level gymnastics, middle distance running, and weight lifting (Olympic and power) in pretty random workouts. One day we might max on dead lifts, a couple of workouts later we do high rep super sets of handstand push-ups and pull-ups. Most workouts are based on how quickly they can be completed and will generally last about 20 minutes not counting the warm up (there?s a specific warm up) and cool down or extra exercises.

What do you think of this? I have 13 years of hard weight training experience, is it possible to grow and get strong from this workout? I am 6’5" and 210 and happy with my build, but I deffinitely don’t want to lose musle mass. I?m concerned with the running and bodyweight and light weight/high rep lifting. One or two times per month we will max on either squat, dead lift, clean, push press, or jerks. Mostly the reps are in the 15 to 20 range or are stripped down 20, 19, 18… and the weight is lightish or body weight only. At Cross Fit they say that the short high intensity workouts (very intense) produces a neuroendocrine response which leads to muscle gains.

Sample workouts:

50-40-30-20 and10 rep rounds of:
Double-unders (jumping rope, the rope passes twice under the feet on one jump)
Sit-ups

Back squat, bodyweight, 21 reps
Run 200 meters
Front squat, 2/3 bodyweight, 21 reps
Run 400 meters
Overhead squat, ? bodyweight, 21 reps
Run 800 meters

Three rounds for time of:
55 pound Dumbbell (Kettlebell) Snatch, 20 reps, alternating arms
20 Pull-ups
Run 400 meters

21-15-9 reps of:
Clean 135 pounds
Ring dips

Run 5K

Overhead squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Front squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps
Back squat 1-1-1-1-1 reps