T Nation

Waterbury is Killing Me

The heading says it all!

I've been training for around 10 years and have competed in around 8 regional bodybuilding contests. I'm not natural, so there's no need to ask, although I trained naturally for the first 3 years, plus some extended periods between then and now (21months straight).

I've been clean for the best part of 8 months now and since I'm getting a bit older (nearly 30!) I've been trying to use my head when it comes training.

In the past I've always followed a traditional bodybuilding 4 day split training each bodypart to failure, with a low volume. However, following reading all of Chad Waterbury's articles I now fully extol the virtues of full body workouts to all and sundry. Since most people where I train don't delve to deeply into the science of training I'm getting a bit of a reputation as being weird! Even my mates are ripping the p*ss out of me.

I have been following the Waterbury Method to the letter, exercise for exercise. Also, I now take a weak pro/carb drink to the gym following advice in the Top Ten Nutrition Myths article.

I feel this could be part of the problem!

Apart from the 10x3 day I am nearly sick during every one of the other workouts (not nice!). Now I'm no pussy and have been sick during workouts before, but for it to be happening time and time again is not doing my motivation any favours.

Has anyone else out there had the same problem when starting this type of programme, or when consuming drinks whilst working out?

It might just make me feel better to know that I'm not just going soft!

My pre-workout drink (about 10 min. before going to the gym) only consists of whey protein.

I can't tollerate any carbs pre-workout.

Then my post workout drink is Surge (or glucose and whey if I don't have Surge).

Then I have another carb/protein meal about an hour to 1.5 hours after my post-workout meal.