T Nation

Water and Malabsortion

Can drinking too much water after a meal hinder your bodies ability to get all that I can from that meal? Will your body not absorb the calories or will it not effect insulin levels or will all the nutrients in the food not be absorbed. I ask because I have uped my water and I guzzle down like 24 oz. after every meal and I feel that could be hindering me.

I’m no expert but if you dilute the acids and enzymes in your stomach too much it might affect the breakdown of nutrients and therefore also the absorbtion.

I think you might be better of by drinking most of the water 30 - 45 minutes before the meals.

This isn’t based on any studies or anything, just (IMHO) logic.

But what do I know?? I’m just a dive instructor :wink:

John Berardi answered this question a few years ago in a Gang of Five article:

Advice for the Water-Impaired

Q. I have read at various times that drinking water during meals impairs digestion by diluting enzymes and digestive juices. Is this true, or is it a lingering myth from the old days?

A. This is one of those myths that has lingered because to the “non-physiology minded” it sounds pretty good. But then again, if you know nothing about how the gastrointestinal tract really works; relatively any pseudoscientific theory would sound pretty good. Below I’ve listed some reasons why water intake during meals is completely safe as well as potentially beneficial. I’ve also discussed why this myth should be categorized along with sightings of Bigfoot and the Loch Ness monster.