Watch the Waist

Hey y’all,

I just want to say I really don’t like my waist. Basically I have that swimmers body type with the long mid section, good for swimming but pretty detrimental when it comes to bodybuilding - at least I knew from pretty early on that I wasn’t going to make it as a pro. Anyway, fat just builds ups on there more than anywhere on my body.

Now I’ll admit my diet is far from desired (I’m a college student) but I have a pretty high metabolism. I was lanky up until I graduated from high school and then I started giving training and eating more priority. Right now I’m around 235-240 at around 15%+ bf, I really can’t be fucked or see any merit in devoting any time to properly measure myself. My judge is the mirror and I don’t like what I see when I look at my mid section.

So with that in mind what’s my course of action from here? Is losing fat in general and just adopting a cleaner diet the only way to cut fat from my waist? Currently I’m kind of in a maintaining/slowly growing process because I have a lot of things to juggle and I’m not really concerned with my diet, just getting in enough protein and not gorging myself on Snickers bars. As of right now I don’t have the means to go on a proper cut or maintain any sort of clean diet. I need a lot of food to grow and although I try to eat the best foods I can, I basically eat anything to get the calories in.

In summary, is my genetic predisposition to gain fat around my mid-section just something I’ll have to deal with as long as I don’t have a cleaner diet? If so, what are some small changes I can make to start getting on the right path?

Cheers.