Was Your Degree Worth It?

I have long resisted getting any sort of higher education. I am now in my late 20’s and feel I am approaching the ceiling of income without a degree.

Context for me: I’m a perpetual job hopper, but I’ve managed to talk myself into a project management position paying around $70k per year. I am a firm believer in getting a raise and promotion with each job switch. I would love to talk numbers if anyone wants to share their educational outcome.

My question is, has your degree been worth it? Monitarily, job prospects, happiness at work, etc.

2 Likes

I’ve about reached the limit of touch-labor pay rates (that don’t involve excessive risk like Oil Dereks) and found myself unsatisfied when I got to a point where I didn’t feel I was growing anymore, and I currently work as a Flight Operations Inspector at Lockheed Martin’s Skunkworks. I make about 95k yearly before taxes or overtime.

Now I’m pursuing a degree in Computer Information Systems because I realized I need a challenge (as if being responsible for the safety of a prototype aircraft wasn’t challenging enough). It made no sense to go to school for something that was going to pay less, and frankly most jobs pay less than what I make now - and I didn’t want to be stuck doing school for 8+ years like most other high-earning degrees… so I landed on tech field.

I have a hard time feeling good if I’m not progressing, so being at a ceiling of any type is hard for me. If you feel this also applies to you, I don’t think there’s a good justification not to get a degree in something.

I’m 28 with a wife and daughter; I wish I had started school younger so they didn’t have to sacrifice this time with me.

1 Like