T Nation

Warrior Diet For Boxer?

hey wut up guys, great site you got here. quick question. i tried to search for the warrior diet, but didnt get my question answered. i was wondering if the warrior diet would benefit a boxer? i train about 3 times a day (roadwork-morning, skills-afternoon, plyometrics-evening) my diet is all natural foods, lots of carbs obviously and ample protein. if i wanted to incorporate this diet to drop some pounds, would it be a good idea, and how exactly would i go about it. i’m new to the whole diet. thanks guys for your help.

Eat nothing through the day (you could prob snack on nuts & berries), until after your last training session & then eat a feast in order of proteins, carbs then fats. Keep to natural foods.

It may be tough for you to continue to train at that level initially. Although I’ve heard others say that eventually they get used to it and even experience gains in energy.

For myself, even though I don’t train as much as you, I’ve been able to adjust to it after a week or so and had no problems. Feel sharper and more focused as well. That may be a plus in the ring.

I’m getting ready to start some Krav Maga classes soon, so it’ll be interesting to see how it goes.

Good luck.

ive played with it, ive got pretty lean on it, but i wasnt competing at the time. Now im more serious, i couldnt justify the decline in quality of training while my body became used to it…

cool thanks alot for the advice. now when i eat my evening meal do i just eat whatever foods i normally eat through out the day in one big meal, or do i eat certain foods (like mostly protein, etc.)? thanks again.

yeah, one of the positives is you dont count calories. i found myself eating heaps of homemade pizzas on it. You’ll lose weight because you just cant physically cant fit all the food (calories) in you would have throughout the day & your body isnt using food for fuel when you exercise.