Wanting to Start Strength Training

First off I hope this is in the correct section as I didn’t particularly know whether to put it in here, the combat section (as I want explosive power/strength) or the strongman section. I just want to get stronger overall.

My stats are below:

Age - 21
Weight - 16 Stone (224lbs)
Bodyfat - 15%
Height - 5,10"
insulin Dependent Diabetic
Experience - Been training since I was 15 doing a 5x per week split (1 bodypart per day). I’ve also done Bill Starr 5x5 type strength training now & again.

My Questions:

I’ve been bodybuilding since I was at least 15 years old and during this time I managed to get up to 18 stone (252lbs). I wasn’t happy with my bodyfat at this weight though so I decided to cut & a year or so later I’m now 16 stone. Anyway, I was watching a program on TV the other day (and call me “easily influenced”) and it was about people who were extremely strong & one guy said “it’s great to look stronger than you are or at least be AS strong as you look”. I personally believe this & so now I’m looking to improve my strength to go along with/match my size. I’d really like to start building explosive power & strength. I’m looking to start boxing soon aswell so I’d like to have explosive power & strength in order to help me out. Anyway, I have some questions:

1. I’d like to keep whatever muscle I already have therefore if I started strength training, would I be able to?

2. Where exactly would I start when it comes to strength training? I realise some people will suggest different things, but is there a specific program which is generally regarded as a good starting point? Bear in mind I’ve been training for a good 6 years, so in my opinion I know the ins & outs of bodybuilding related weight lifting, therefore I’m not particularly sure if I should be starting off with the very novice type strength training. Although, having never done any strength training before (except 5x5) I may be wrong.