Want to Start a Business - Where Do I Begin?

So, i’m doing a job that i like, and i make decent money. But it’s not something i see myself doing for the rest of my life. I’ve always wanted to be my own boss, and i’ve always liked the idea of having my own business. What i want is to own a cafe bar.

I don’t really have a clear vision of what i want it to be exactly, but im working in asia at the moment and im picking up some great ideas that i might be able to apply in England, and target a niche market.

I’m in no hurry to get this started. I’m saving money and im getting ideas. I do have a friend who is an excellent chef, and who has expressed an interest in being a business partner somewhere down the line. If the food is good, well that’s part of the battle won, right?

My problem is i have little experience in this area. Yeah i’ve eaten and drank all over the world, I was a restaurant waiter during my student days, but i’ve never run a cafe or a bar. I don’t really know the ins and outs. Where do i begin? One thing i think i understand is that often, in this industry, people just open a place without any real experience in the area, and use poor planning, and think that by just throwing money at it, it will succeed. Then it goes down the pan after a year. And often people provide a service that they like, but it’s not what the customers in that area actually want. Like opening a fancy wine bar in a town that has about as much culture as Slough.

Also, what about financing? What’s the process? How do i go about working out how much money will be needed? How much i can borrow?

I understand these are fairly broad questions, and there are lots more questions that need to be asked, ins and outs etc. I just wanted to throw it out there and get the ball rolling. I’d really appreciate any advice from those who have experience.

Thanks

I’ve worked in several restaurants, some profitable, some not.

I’ll try and offer some advice.