Want to Compete a Year From Now

I’ve posted in the beginner forum before, but I wanted to get some specific feedback as it relates to competing. I just started lifting seriously this year. I’m currently running a full body routine 3x days a week. Here are some of my recent numbers to give you an idea of where I’m at:

Today’s workout:
Squats - 165 3x8
Bench - 185 3x10 (NOTE: It’s a Powertec machine press, and it is all I have. My true bench is probably much lower.)
Bent-over rows - 105 3x10
Landmine Presses - 70 2x15 (just because I felt good)

Last workout:
Deadlifts - Worked up to 2x of 225
OHP - 70 3x10
Pull-ups - However many sets until 30 total reps. Normally I alternate chin-ups with pull-ups.
Bicep curls and tricep extensions - I’ve been doing 2x12 or so with these at 45 and 55 respectively.

As you can see from my numbers, I’m still relatively weak, but I’m definitely progressing. My most noticeable strength gains are in deadlifts and bench.

Other stats haven’t changed much from my beginner thread. 5’10" 174 lbs as of this morning. I’m eating around 500 over maintenance - 3500~ calories of clean, wholesome food on training days and around 3000 on non-training days.

My question regarding competing is this: Is it possible for me to compete in a local NPC show next August and be competitive? I don’t know whether I’d be a better fit for physique or bodybuilding because at this point there isn’t enough size on me to make any sort of decision. I’ve attached some photos so it’s obvious my physique is poor. What can I do with this in a year’s time? Hope? No hope?

The reason I’d like to compete is that it gives me a specific date in which I need to have made serious progress. There’s that and just the fact of having a goal to work toward.

Here’s a side shot to go along with the other. Again, far from good. Could be worse I guess. I’m guessing I’m 15% bf at least.

[quote]Stryder wrote: