Want to Achieve a Deep Squat

Hey guys :wink:

I’m a student from Heidelberg and my dream is being able to squat pretty deep.

in my case it’s a lack of flexibility.
so I started a stretch routine (every leg and hip muscles are stretched 3 times for 20 seconds), that i do 5 times per week.

I read through some articles from TMuscle and box squats with an empty bar shall be a good flexibility exercise.

but how often in a week and how many sets and repetitions per set should i do at this exercise to become a deep-squatting athlete quickly?

I know it’s just the empty bar and I can it do it more often than real heavy squats, but how often and which volume is ok?

I hope someone can help me :slight_smile:

thank you in anticipation,
sincerely yours, tommy :wink:

There are likely several issues that prevent you from squatting deep.

1. Ankle mobility - if your weight ever drifts forward and you squat on your toes, your ankle mobility probably isn’t up to par. Doing some dorsiflexion drills should help.

2&3. Hip mobility and lumbar stability - these two go hand in hand. If you don’t have enough hip mobility, you will often compensate for this by rounding your lower back.

Think of it as a “stiffness imbalance” between your hips and lumbar area - you want to squat deep but your overly tight hips force movement at the lumbar spine in order for you to actually be able to achieve this depth. Lumbar rounding is a sure way to take lots of pounds off the bar and leave you at risk of injury.

You can fix these by doing hip mobility drills and lots of core work - I especially like core work that involves stabilization of the lumbar area - including rollouts and side planks.

There are a lot of other factors such as thoracic mobility, glute recruitment, etc. but the ones I listed were probably the biggest issues for people who can’t squat deep.

Do an author search for Mike Robertson and read all of his articles - you will be well on your way to squatting with perfect mechanics.