Wake Up Call / Nutrition Advice

I’ve been considering quitting drinking alcohol alltogether since my birthday… (gift to self) Since I graduated high school 15 years ago I started drinking on a pretty regular basis (go Army!) and went from 160ish to about 265 with the help of the alcohol and a poor diet over that time. I’m right around 25% BF now and decided enough is enough.

Well we just opened a new hospital and I volunteered to be a patient for my CT department so some of my coworkers could get some training.

Come to find out I have a fatty liver which I know to be related to the alcohol consumption. It sealed the deal for me. No alcohol for the next year and get rechecked.

I got blood tests done and they all came back normal but I think that’s just because I tend to stay active. I can squat/deadlift 300 for reps and max bench 275.(I only have 300lbs of weights.)

I need nutritional advice on foods and supplements that will help me detox my liver over the next year (but as soon as possible).

I know the upside to no alcohol and better nutrition is fat loss, so I’m looking forward to that. But my main goal is to clean out my system and lay a great foundation for starting a serious mass gaining program…

I would even consider going vegetarian (not vegan) for a while to help speed the process, but have no idea where to start…

Berardi’s precision nutrition is pretty solid.

REZ-V many health benefits including liver protecting. Milk Thistle with high sylmarin 80% or better content is said to help restore heathy liver function. In addition to these I would recommend Greens Plus and Flameout in addition to eating a healthy well rounded diet and exercise which looks like you plan on doing. Great job on going for the positive change. You will be really loving life in the coming years as long as you stay committed.

Take care,

D

Ok, so you’re 265 with 25% bodyfat?