T Nation

Waist Increased After Bulk. Advice?

I am looking for a bit of advice if anyone can help me.
I started training seriously last September after a few years of just training sporadically to 4-5 times per week. With this I also changed my diet and began to eat a lot of the recommended foods for gaining mass. Since September 2012 I have gone from 156lbs to 185lbs with the gains most noticeable on my shoulders and quads.

My shirt sizes have all increased which has led me to having to restock half my wardrobe for both work and social clothes. This was expected and I have no problem with. The problem I do have is the WAIST.

My waist has gone from 32inch to 36inch and I do not have enough experience to know whether this is normal and to be expected or I am going about this wrong.

It is not so much the weight gain that I have a problem with its that my stomach now sticks out sort from behind the abs making it look swollen. My abs are getting bigger but just seem to be coming forward in front of my stomach.

Is there anything I should be doing different to continue adding muscle but keep a smallish waist? Isolation exercises for my waist, Cardio, diet?

Or do I just suck it up and get on with it as it is an expected side effect of bulking?

How does your waist look early in the morning before your first meal? If there is no noticeable fat around your mid section it’s most likely bloating.

[quote]domsib wrote:
I am looking for a bit of advice if anyone can help me.
I started training seriously last September after a few years of just training sporadically to 4-5 times per week. With this I also changed my diet and began to eat a lot of the recommended foods for gaining mass. Since September 2012 I have gone from 156lbs to 185lbs with the gains most noticeable on my shoulders and quads.[/quote]
Some questions to clarify where you are and where you came from:
How tall are you?

Were you lean (with ab definition, close to a 4 or 6 pack) before bulking?