T Nation

W/O Suggetions With Heel Problems

Hi!

A couple of years ago I was a sedate tub o' lard at 240 pounds. I was fine with that until my heels broke down on me due to the weight.

Injured heels suck something horrible, so I decided to get in shape and lose some weight. I started lifting weight and doing some cardio (mostly spinning) and I've lost about 45 pounds now and gotten a bit stronger while doing that.

Now that I'm a bit lighter I want do add some more muscle, and I think the best way to do this is to do large lifts, like dead lifts, squats and benchpresses.

Problem is my heels haven't healed yet, so I can't really squat properly. I can do deadlifts fairly well, though I have to place most of the weight on the front of my feet. I'm not all that strong yet (about 280 lbs is my max so far), but at least I can do them and I get stronger while doing them.

Another problem is that my knees were beginning to feel the weight right before I started working out. I never had any real problems with them, but they are weak. I don't think I can squat much more than 120 lbs due to my knees. You should see peoples' reaction when you squat less than you bench ... it's sad, so sad.

My question to you all is, do you have any good suggestions on a training schedule I could use? I'd like suggestions for the whole body, not just lower body.

Thanks!!

I can't seem to follow this complicated medical-ese language. (kidding) What exactly did the doctor say happened? Was it something that required surgery or therapy? Did they tell you to stay off it for any amount of time?

Then don't squat yet, and don't deadlift right now (blasphemy perhaps, but deadlifting with your weight over your toes is a good way to get a bad back. And that'd be just one more thing preventing you from training effectively).

It doesn't sound like you're limited at all for upper body work, so, do whatever floats your boat.