Volume of Training for Growth

Jim,

I’ve been training for 5+ years and have always found it very had to gain size. anyway i posted up in on of the sections of the forum here on my training/diet and the guys tore me a new one and said that i should follow one of the established programs, like 5/3/1.

So i dug up your original 5/3/1 article and am keen to give it a crack.

One thing that i found really interesting is that the overall volume (4 days per week training / number of sets) seems quite low.

Do you think guys like me, who struggle gaining size even with high volume, are still suited to this technique?

I’m ~85kg @ ~17%BF and have just upped cals from 3500 to 4000 per day. Thanks

[quote]Mantra46 wrote:
Jim,

I’ve been training for 5+ years and have always found it very had to gain size. anyway i posted up in on of the sections of the forum here on my training/diet and the guys tore me a new one and said that i should follow one of the established programs, like 5/3/1.

So i dug up your original 5/3/1 article and am keen to give it a crack.

One thing that i found really interesting is that the overall volume (4 days per week training / number of sets) seems quite low.

Do you think guys like me, who struggle gaining size even with high volume, are still suited to this technique?

I’m ~85kg @ ~17%BF and have just upped cals from 3500 to 4000 per day. Thanks
[/quote]

You seem to be a copy of myself, and ive made similar threads, stop thinking that this problem is “low volume and therefor youre not gonna grow”, did you buy 531 or beyond 531 book?

Anyway if you read threads that ive made here, i think youre gonna get many answers, since i have been asking the same thing basically, and have the same problem as you.
We even eat the same amount of cals and weight the same :p.

I recommend simplicity, from what ive read, BBB 3 month Challenge :slight_smile: