T Nation

Volume and Intensity

This is a religious question. Everybody has a different answer, and we’re all convinced the one we have is right.

While volume is what builds muscle, volume is just sets times reps times weight. So three sets of ten with fifty pounds is the same volume as two sets of fifteen with fifty pounds, or three sets of five with a hundred pounds, or just plain picking up three-quarters of a ton once.

It doesn’t take a genius to figure out that these all have very different effects on the nervous system and the muscles, and that the tempo of your reps will also drastically alter things.

I’m a relative newbie at this, but my basic instincts are two simple rules: every set should be completed (lower the weight if necessary in later sets), and every rep should be hard to do (raise the weight if necessary in earlier sets). Theoretically, this should naturally keep pace with the body’s development, without moving too fast.

I’m sure you’ll hear plenty more from other people who are much more experienced, though. There are a LOT of ways to build muscle, and you just have to find the one that works best for you.

CDarklock:
Your point about there being many different ways to build muscle is dead on and you probably should have limited your post to just that because your “instincts” contradict this point. I don’t think these are instincts (innate tendencies) but rather something that was learned along the way. These tenets sound to me like something my junior high gym teacher spouted as the “real” way to weight train before he turned us all loose on the universal machine for what always turned into a bench press maxathon.