Volleyball Explosiveness

I hope someone can help me!

My wife and I coach a HS girls volleyball team and we are struggling. We have good skills and knowledge of the game but every time we play, we seem to come up short physically. We aren’t quick to react and we aren’t very explosive in our attacking or general movement.

We are new at the school and the program has never had a weight program. We are midseason right now so we don’t just want to jump into something but we want to start an offseason program.

I have some knowledge if lifting but not enough to build a program for a game I have never played.

Any former or current volleyball players out there? Even if your not, could anyone offer some help for developing great explosiveness for athletic performance?

Thanks!

I play rugby not volleyball but the basics should be the same. If they get stronger at squats/deadlifts/power cleans they’ll get more explosive. Box jumps or broad jumps are also good - low reps, long rest periods, done before strength work to avoid being fatigued whilst doing them. I think for training athletes two guys who generally give good advice are Dan John and Jim Wendler. There is an article on here by Wendler that could help;

The beauty of volleyball vs say basketball is there isn’t a lot of lateral movement in terms of jumping. For VB often times the player has to plant both feet and jump vertically. But you also don’t want to bog down your athletes with too much muscle (i’ve never seen a bodybuilding volleyballer) but lean and sexy yes. (Giddyup Misty May)