VO2 Max Training; MetCon is Mandatory

Hey coach, I was reading your article MetCon is Mandatory: Cardio for Physical Dominance and had a question. Quoted:
"#### VO2 MAX

To improve VO2 max, you want bouts of 3-8 minutes at a heart rate level of 90-100%. Again, going for 3-8 minutes isn’t enough. It needs to be done at the proper intensity. Doing 5-8 minutes at a heart rate of 75% will not train VO2 max. This can also be done through a constant bout of exercise in the target zone or via intervals. Proper HIIT trains both anaerobic capacity and VO2 max.

Best modalities: Running, stationary bike, treadmill, air bike, rowing ergometer, or ski erg for bouts of 3-8 minutes at 90-100% of max heart rate."

According to this, the best method to double-tap energy systems is HIIT. I’m a cardio noob because steady state cardio makes me hate life, but HIIT is all good with me. Getting to the point: how do you recommend integrating HIIT into a powerbuilding routine? Frequency, exercises, synchronization with training (I run PPL 2x per week, but any program works).
I hope this isn’t too complicated a question, I just know I need to integrate HIIT into my programming and think you’re one of the best people to ask about it.

Isnt 100% HR called 100% HR for a reason? I mean… something you can hold for few seconds? If you can do HIIT work for longer than 15 sec its not HIIT… 3 minutes? All the fighters must be morons training their whole life and still gassing out then?

P.s - i dont have the full context so if what i say doesnt make any sense, then just ignore me :smiley:

2 Likes

In soccer we use 4x4 protocol. 4 mins cruising speed run followed by 3 min of recovering speed, but not walking. That is repeated 4 times. It is an excellent VO2 Max builder. If you are able to do 5 km in these 28 mins you are in a decent shape. 10 km is almost possible but that is a world class athlete level.

2 Likes