Vitamins on a Budget

I’m a noob when it comes to dieting/nutrition. I’m a student and on a budget, so I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice about which vitamins I should be taking on a regular basis. The only thing I really take is a multi-vitamin and fish oil. Any advice would be great. Thanks in advance.

Spend it on food. Multi and fish oil is more then enough.

[quote]JFG wrote:
Spend it on food. Multi and fish oil is more then enough. [/quote]

Seconded. Though many (myself included) simply count whey as food.

[quote]JFG wrote:
Spend it on food. Multi and fish oil is more then enough. [/quote]

Quoted for truth. Multi-vitamin and fish oil is enough in most circumstances.

Fish oil, good… but I wouldn’t spend money on a multi. Rather, spend your money on select vitamins/minerals that are absolutely crucial if you lift hard… zinc and magnesium, mainly. I think if your eat a lot of veggies, certain fruits, eat lots of good protein and fat, and take your fish oil, you are pretty well off. Elitepro Minerals + the nutrition above is optimal, IMO.

I agree with all that has been said. The only time I feel the need for a multi is if I am on a restrictive diet that limits the levels of many nutrients I can consume.

Minerals (esp. zinc, potassium, magnesium, selenium, copper), vitamin A 10000i.u/day vitamin D 3-5000i.u./day, fish oil. All of this should be pretty cheap. Spend the rest on lots of mixed veggies, some fruits and quality meats/fish.

fish oil/vitamin d

I take vitamin d 12,000 iu’s a day, been great so far. I believe the rule for over dosing it is when you have a metallic taste in your mouth cut back.

[quote]jwesus wrote:
fish oil/vitamin d

I take vitamin d 12,000 iu’s a day, been great so far. I believe the rule for over dosing it is when you have a metallic taste in your mouth cut back.[/quote]
metallic taste? I think that is for zinc.