T Nation

Virus, Heart Attack & Nutrition Advice

Hi Guys. Every now and then someone turns to this forum for some advice when a loved one gets sick, and usually the advice is good. So please listen up if you have any knowledge of this…

My Dad had a very severe virus about 5 months ago, the name of which I am actually unaware of (I’m not sure they even even got to the bottom of it for a diagnosis!). Unfortunately he has suffered a bad heart attack, and from what I know, the virus may be linked to this, via extreme inflammation/immune response?

If anyone can suggest the best nutritional recovery protocol, I’d be extremely grateful. I am going along the lines of good fats (especially FO) & anti-oxidants (any specific ones?). However, I’m particularly concerned about the presence of the virus which I have heard can linger undiagnosed.

Thanks in advance

Sorry to hear about your dad.

I’m no doctor, but it might be a good idea to research Resveratrol. Fish oil seems like the first option to turn to though as you mentioned.

I would do a lot of research before putting your dad onto any out-of-the-ordinary supplements.

One of my good friends had/has a virus that specifically kept attacking his heart, which made him sick for quite some time. He’s had the virus for roughly 3 years now; its symptoms come and go. He eventually had a very minor heart attack a few months ago but is doing quite well, regardless.

I would say this: make sure your father doesn’t do any overly strenuous activity. He’s already had a heart attack, so you don’t want his hear to have to work any more than it wants to. Also, get him on a good, healthy diet. Make sure he watches what he eats. Eat clean, natural/whole foods. I would say that if it’s processed, it might be a bad idea. Try to get him to eat as natural as possible. Lots of fruits and veggies and meats. Hell, have him eat a well-rounded diet.