Vid Critique Please

I’m 90-94 kg, haven’t weighed myself in a long time. This is my first attempt at adding a jerk to my clean. I’ve been squat cleaning for a few weeks now. Weight is ~102 (225 lbs). Obviously my jerk is terrible, but I’d like to know overall how this looks. Thanks in advance guys.

Also, I managed to get ~111(245) over my head and to lockout, but I definitely extended near the top, so it wouldn’t have counted based on my limited knowledge.

[quote]HeavyTriple wrote:
I’m 90-94 kg, haven’t weighed myself in a long time. This is my first attempt at adding a jerk to my clean. I’ve been squat cleaning for a few weeks now. Weight is ~102 (225 lbs). Obviously my jerk is terrible, but I’d like to know overall how this looks. Thanks in advance guys.

Also, I managed to get ~111(245) over my head and to lockout, but I definitely extended near the top, so it wouldn’t have counted based on my limited knowledge.[/quote]

HT,

The power is good, as is the rhythm.

1)Don’t pull straight.
2) Start the bar over the bse of your big toe. (you’re too close.)
3) Set Position should be: a)shoulders vertically over bar, b)arms descend by outsides of knee joints, c)weight should be on the forefeet at Set d) your hips will be slightly higher due to this Set position.

You might try looking at Pendlay’s forum and vids. and I have 3 vids. on youtube that might help: Rock and Roll-Don McCauley, The Dirty Dancing Drill-Don McCauley and Sweep the olympic lifts-Don McCauley.

Good luck.

CoachMc

Thanks coach, I’ve watched Pendlay’s vids, but I’ll check yours out before I ask more questions.

Like Coach MC said, work on how you lock into the bar before lifting and don’t pull straight. It looks like you’re picking the bar up with your back versus pushing the ground down with your legs. This prevents your knees from getting back and allowing proper bar path and increased acceleration as a result.