Vascular Injury During Heavy Attempts

I am a hopeful future medical professional, and I recently have been wondering about the effects that weightlifting has on our vascular system.

I am specifically addressing major adverse events secondary to the amount of strain that a valsalva places on your arterial system during a max effort lift.

I am aware of things like subconjuntival hemorrhages, and anterior epistaxis, however I am wondering about other vascular injuries, specifically the development of posterior epistaxis, aneurysms, kidney function, and negative changes in vision due to extreme loads and strains.

I have personally never heard of anyone having a major event who was not already at risk, and I have been unable to find a scientific study to link me to any conclusions one way or another.

Can anyone help me gain insight into this matter?

Similar to you, I havent heard of anything happening to someone who didnt already have numerous risk factors. I remember from a lab in my undergrad leg pressing 225lbs my systolic blood pressure reached 290 during the concentric phase. That is nowhere near a maximal lift for me, so I can only imagine the pressure that occurs on a 1RM.

As for aneurysm, decreased kidney function, and vision changes I believe that occurs more from a chronic CV overload, training triples and doubles isnt going to be detrimental.

Which field of medicine are you interested in?

[quote]dzmendon wrote:
Similar to you, I havent heard of anything happening to someone who didnt already have numerous risk factors. I remember from a lab in my undergrad leg pressing 225lbs my systolic blood pressure reached 290 during the concentric phase. That is nowhere near a maximal lift for me, so I can only imagine the pressure that occurs on a 1RM.

As for aneurysm, decreased kidney function, and vision changes I believe that occurs more from a chronic CV overload, training triples and doubles isnt going to be detrimental.