T Nation

Using Bumpers/Oly Bars & Plates

Hi there,

I am a personal trainer at a gym and I am looking to purchase a set of bumpers & oly bar for the gym. I have a couple questions about the use of the equipment and I’d appreciate some input from some of the more experienced members here! Thank you in advance.

1. Can you use bumpers and iron plates on the same bar?
  2. Can using bumpers and iron plates on the same bar damage the bumpers/bar?
  3. Is it safe to say that oly bars should not be used inside a power rack, more specifically on pins?
  4. Can using bumper plates on non-oly bars cause damage to the bumpers?

There are a few lifters in the gym who do some oly lifting who I would like the equipment to be available to. I want to be clear about the proper do’s and don’ts with bumpers and oly bars so they don’t get damaged or used incorrectly. I am considering using a sign-in/sign-out system for the oly bar as it is easy to keep in storage.

The bumper plates are a bit more difficult to be moving in and out of storage and I’d like to keep them out on the floor if possible. But of course, the most important thing is to protect my investment and get the most use out of the equipment as possible.

Any other suggestions would be highly appreciated!

Thank you,

Ryan

The bottom line: All bumpers will sustain “damage” over time. The degree to which will vary and hinges upon factors like:

• Amount of use

• Manner of use

-Quality of bumpers and the bar (some can take more abuse than others)

But to answer your specific questions,

" 1) Can you use bumpers and iron plates on the same bar? " - Yes you can and this is often done. However the iron plates are almost always light (10lbs or 5kg or less).