T Nation

USAPL Records

I am pretty new to the powerlifting game, but I was looking through the USAPL records for my age (Teen 3, 18-19) and weight class (198) and saw that the total was pretty attainable.
It is 1317. I currently am sitting at at 425 squat, a 295 bench, and a 515 deadlift, putting me 82 lbs short.

I will be turning 20 in 6 months, and then wouldn’t be able to compete in that division, obviously.
Is this an attainable goal for a 6 month time frame? I have been lifting competitively for about a year, have done 1 meet in the UPA, where I did decently.

What would be a method of building strength, technique, and peaking that could be effective?
For what I have done to get to my current level is kind of a mix of high frequency with moderately high volume. I have never done a real set in stone program.
Also, my diet is no where near perfect, but I do try to consume about 250 g’s of protein a day and around 4000 calories.

As I said, I’m pretty new to the sport, and would love advice.
I would love to set a record or two before becoming a junior (20-23) where the total record is 1600 hahah.

Yes you can without a doubt obtain that goal given the time frame. As far as the best training program, well that is obviously up for debate. 6 months is long enough to where you can run any program, then a month out will really be when you have to start focusing on peaking. But dont think you have to start priming your CNS for a max out now, because you can completely change your body composition in 6 months given your young age. Just focus on growing and taking advantage of being a young lifter likely still making huge gains

Check the rules, you may be eligible to lift for the whole year, some feds allow this.

This is what I’m currently doing. Critique is welcome (Repsxsets)

Monday
Snatch Grip Deadlift: Daily max, then 3x5 with 80%
Front Squats: 5x5
Hack Squats, 1x20, 3x8 heavier, 1x20
SLDL 3x12-15
Ab Wheel Rolloutx50

Tuesday