T Nation

US Americans, Your Education System

This was inspired by a reply in the US Soccer thread:

My thoughts were:
LMAO at you sounding proud of this. It's not so much that you, as a nation, don't care through conscious choice. It's more like, with the weakest school system in the developed world, you just don't know any better.

Quite a few media outlets have written about US kids having difficulty with maths and English after graduating from school, and needing extra help in getting ready for uni. Judging from this forum alone, US teens don't have a very good command of their native language. Of course, I'm just judging from statistics and forum-experience, which isn't worth much..

So! Everyone who's from the US.. How do you/did you find your education system? I know how weak it is overall, but I'd be quite interested to hear some first-hand accounts about people's schools.

As a Teacher, I can tell you the constant issue in NYC. We get complaints about how bad our city schools are, and yet they keep cutting funding and refuse to offer competitive salaries. The constant question raised is ‘how the hell can you attract qualified educators, and expect them to perform well without adequate supplies, too many students in a classroom, and being so worried about getting positive reviews from their micromanaging supervisors to do a good job?’

S

Our education system is worthless, the economy in shambles, it’s horrid. Please tell the world not to come here under any circumstance whatsoever.

[quote]The Mighty Stu wrote:
The constant question raised is ‘how the hell can you attract qualified educators, and expect them to perform well without adequate supplies, too many students in a classroom, and being so worried about getting positive reviews from their micromanaging supervisors to do a good job?’
[/quote]

Exactly.