Upping Food Intake vs GOMAD

Ok so I’ve had a revelation! I need to get bigger! I’m 6’1 and around 185lbs. I know from when I was last a regular lifter that at this weight I can get to a 120kgx5 squat, but I’ve set myself a target of 140x5. So I reckon I need to be shooting for 200lbs body weight (also I won’t look as small as I currently do).

So my question is would I be better off working my weight up slower through an increased food intake or would I be ok just doing GOMAD to get the extra weight on? And roughly how many calories would I need to be eating to gain the extra lbs (I work as a landscaper so I imagine I would need to be eating a lot)

depends on how well you’d tolerate all that milk. I’d be shitting my pants daily if I tried GOMAD

I’m not expert in nutrition, but I have always considered GOMAD as a little extreme and not so healthy option for gaining weight. Eat a lot of quality food and ingredients.

[quote]Yogi wrote:
depends on how well you’d tolerate all that milk. I’d be shitting my pants daily if I tried GOMAD[/quote]

I did GOMAD when I first started lifting a couple years ago and successfully put on 15lbs of muscle after dropping the excess water and bit of fat. So while it’s an unpleasant experience I know it works and I can stick it out for a few weeks.
But I’m in no major hurry for the weight so I might try just eating more and seeing how quickly that works. Although the prospect of keeping track of calories is pretty daunting as I’ve never done it before and don’t really know if there’s a best way to do it

Don’t do GOMAD.

If you look like a late term cancer patient and you think taking a quick fix is better than getting into good habits and you look at this (this isn’t some lazy schlep either, I believe he had a 200+kg squat at the end of 6 months) and are okay with it:

then you consider it otherwise just eat more.