T Nation

Upper Lower or Starting Strength?

Kk, not gonna waste your time. 16 years old, 5'10, 135 pounds, skinny and weak, need to get bigger and stronger. I've lurked this site for a while and have read many articles, so I have a general idea of some training concepts, methods etc. After researching, it's come down to either an upper/lower split or starting strength (both geared towards mass and size). I've heard great things about starting strength as well as upper/lower splits.

I was just worried about how starting strength looks a little unbalanced (and dw, im not just talking about "teh gunz and abzzz"), and upper/lower looks like it's a little more balanced, but i've still heard great things about both. (p.s, i've trained for a couple months with the typical 4 day bodypart split, so im not a COMPLETE beginner and now the techniques for the majority of exercises, and i gained about 10 pounds and some strength-yes i was 125 before, but never really ate enough to gain quality muscle). Which training method do you guys think will be more beneficial to me?

Btw, i’ve got my eating planned out, can’t forget about that. I will be aiming for about 3000-3500 cals per day, divided into 1g protein/bodyweight, fat and lots of carbs.

You didn’t really tell us exactly what your goals were.

See, if you had said “my top priority is to have a big bench, squat, and deadlift, and I don’t care if I look like a spider with a big butt” then I’d say go ahead and do Starting Strength (but be prepared to deal with a lagging bench press).

Or if you had said “my top priority is to get to 200lbs of solid bodyweight with 17 inch arms, with my powerlifts being a means to that end” then I’d say run screaming from Starting Strength and just train with a traditional program.

Sometimes these threads start and the OP gets lots of great advice, and then we all find out they only want to weigh 155lbs with abs and don’t care about anything else.