T Nation

Upper Chest Workouts

Whenever I train my upper chest with incline benchpresses, I’m almost never feel remotely sore the next day, and my triceps feel fine. I’ll do 5/5s @ 140lbs and follow this with incline chest flyes. I think my shoulders are pretty dominant now as I train handstand pushups regularly (usually 5 sets @ 8 reps @ my body weight of 175lbs).

Do any of you guys have a more functional workout routine for the upper chest to build mass? Looking forward to discussing!

Thanks!

I’m new to BB’ing, but I figure I can give some advice anyways since I’m not new to training in general. I started the ABBH program by Mr. Waterbury and so far I think it’s a good program.

I changed it slightly so instead of doing flat bench I’m doing incline BP’s to avoid injuries in the shoulder region and to build some mass on the upper part of the chest. (I read here at T-Nation that inclines are better than flat BP’s).

If you’re not sore the day after you’re not training hard enough :slight_smile:

[quote]huyslogic wrote:
Whenever I train my upper chest with incline benchpresses, I’m almost never feel remotely sore the next day, and my triceps feel fine. I’ll do 5/5s @ 140lbs and follow this with incline chest flyes. I think my shoulders are pretty dominant now as I train handstand pushups regularly (usually 5 sets @ 8 reps @ my body weight of 175lbs).

Do any of you guys have a more functional workout routine for the upper chest to build mass? Looking forward to discussing!

Thanks![/quote]

Why would you be worried about what you can “feel” or whether or not your sore when you only bench 140 for 5x5? Build an appreciable base of strength first.

Well, I am not sure what the problem is, but I can do planche pushups with only hands touching ground (so I’m pretty certain I have a strong base strength); I’m ectomorphic at 6’; How can I boost this up? Is switching to dumbbells recommended?

[quote]JBR wrote: