T Nation

Upper Chest Workouts

i'm new to the forum and i'm new to bodybuilding so i want to ask what are the workouts
for upper chest (please shed light on all the workouts for upper chest)

thank you

incline bench works pretty well

According to Dorian Yates decline bench is the single best chest building exercise there is. Butterfly presses are supposed to give you that vertical line between your pecs.

You just recommended decline presses for upper chest...?

Incline presses with barbell/dumbells are the main upper chest exercise... you could also try incline dumbell flies. Might find that a slight angle works better than a steeper one.

Of course, if you wanted you could find much more detail if you spent some time looking around the site.

incline DB

New to BB, but new to weight training as well?

I have to say i'm amazed that on a site where the majority of ppl are so well educated in weight training that guys are recommending incline presses. It's a massive misconception that its possible to target a specific part of the chest. If you hear guys like Dorian Yates talk about it and just read up a bit you'll find that due to there only being one insertion and one origin for the pectoralis major you cannot target a specific part of it. Doing incline presses simply moves some of the resistance to the anterior deltoid and takes some off the pec. In reality there is no way of targeting just the upper pec. The fullness of your chest depends very much on genetics. I know this isnt what you wanted to hear but just stick to flat DB and bench and throw in some decline to give some additional range of motion. If your just starting out you should be seeing massive gains anyway so i wouldnt worry too much about which part of chest is growing. Just appreciate the gains you see now cause i assure you you wont be seeing them again. The first 6-12 months is where you gonna see the best gains.