T Nation

Upper Body Lagging Behind Lower

Hello guys, simple request for help. I'm tired of having stick arms and a puny chest and thick tree trunk legs. I've got 13 inch arms, but 26 inch thighs. It's bad. Here are some quick stats...

18 Years Old
200 lbs
Lifting PRs
295 3x5
265 3x3 (just started these, still progressing 10 lbs per day rather easily)
Bench Press
190 3x5
Pendlay Rows
175 3x5
Weighted Chinups
25 2x8
Weighted Dips
45 2x8

My training was never tailored for mass or overall strength, I have a background as a 100m sprinter so I always prioritized legwork. A shoulder dislocation when I was 16 only further worsened the issue. I started training with Starting Strength, but with my shoulder injury I've always been nervous about benching and then stopped, and for some reason never chose to do rows. I'd simply squat, dip, and do chinups after all my track work.

I've decided I've had enough of it. After some recent hip pain and bloodied shins forcing me to take a break from squatting and deadlifting, I want to tailor my routine to fix up my arms. Really I just want a decent routine. This is what I've been doing...

Bench 3x5 (close grip, careful with form because of shoulder)
Deadlift 3x3/Pendlay Row 3x5
Weighted Dips 2x8
Weighted Chins 2x8
DB Curls 2x8
Shrugs 2x8

I've been consistently adding weight but I know it's not a sound routine. I'll be adding deads and squats in asap. I've been looking for popular reccomended routines but I want less legwork and more of a focus on my upperbody, but don't know how to modify existing programs to accommodate that. Any input will be appreciated.

I have a couple of suggestions. First of all, your rep ranges are very low if you're looking to put on some mass, i'd up the bench numbers to anything between 6-15 reps, various ranges work for different people but you'll have to figure that out what works best for you.