Upper Body Cardio?

I am a 34 year old, 6 foot 9 (not a typo), 274 pound male. For the past 2.5 months I have been on a relatively intense weight training and cardio regimen. I have made some very significant gains towards my goals greater muscular strength and endurance, fat loss, and overall fitness. However, something has me confused.

My strength gains in my lower body are eclipsing the relative gains in my upper body. At this time I am weight training almost exclusively on machines. Do not give me grief on this point. I will be transitioning to free weights soon enough but for now this is working for me. I am not currently in the mindset to be training on form nor dealing with the social and scheduling dynamic of working with a partner. When I started training I was maxxing out at 6-12 reps using 1/4 to 1/3 of the plates on most machines for both upper and lower body. Now I am finding that I am doing 6-12 reps using about 2/3 the plates on the lower body machines and barely half the plates on the upper body machines. My leg improvements are also visibly more apparent.

I realize I may simply be wired to develop this way genetically. Also, I spend more time training on upper body days than on lower (more muscle groups) so it may be that I am overtraining upper body. I have another theory I would like to present that I would like your opinions on. I train using the following schedule.

Day 1 Upper Body Weight Training
Day 2 Cardio
Day 3 Lower Body Weight Training
Day 4 Cardio
Day 5 Upper Body Weight Training
Day 6 Cardio
Day 7 Lower Body Weight Training
Day 8 Cardio
Day 9 Upper Body Weight Training

And so on (yes I throw in rest days) …

On my cardio days I do some fairly high intensity endurance training on cross-trainer machines. I maintain a target heart rate of 165 for around one hour.