T Nation

Unwanted trunk rotation during squats...

Dear T-men/vixen,

I weight train with my wife, and although I am no expert, I tried to teach her what I have learned through school and other avenues of learning (e.g. boards like this).

Once in awhile, I notice a problem with her form or something. Usually, I am able to figure out what the problem is and suggest a correction, but right now, I'm stumped...

I've recently noticed that when my wife does back squats, the bar has a tendency to rotate about 15 - 20 degrees to the right (so that the plates on the left side of the bar are "ahead" of the plates on the right side of the bar).

Everything else about her posture, etc., seems fine...feet are neutral are slightly turned out, about shoulder width apart (or a bit more)...back is slightly hyperextended, head facing forward. However, she lifts with one of those pads that attach around the bar with velcro (to prevent the "pressure" feeling of having the bar across the shoulders and back). Normally, I don't think these pose a problem for people, but she happens to be very small (4'10", 95 lbs), so I am wondering whether this wrap is causing her hand spacing on the bar to be too wide (although I'm not sure how this would affect stability in a negative way).

What else would be relevant to tell you...? She has been lifting for about 3 years now (as a recreational exerciser), and has made significant progress:

• bench press of 65 lbs for 6-8 reps
  • dead lift of 105 lbs for reps
  • squats with between 95 and 115 lbs
  • does up to 6 (perfect form) chin-ups

If any of you has any idea what might cause that problem (which causes pain in her upper back), or what alternative exercises could be done, I would be very appreciative.

please bump...I am hoping for an answer