University of Florida

Anybody out there go to UF? I’m thinking about going there next fall(2002) for grad. school. If anyone could tell me what I can expect I’d appreciate it. Thanks. Oh, I’ll be graduating with a degree in biochemistry and a minor in mathematics. So my studies in grad. school will probably focus on the medical world.

Kevin, I graduated from UF two years ago. I now work in Gainesville. UF is a beautiful campus and is one of the most affordable colleges in Florida. Also, you probably know that it is one of the best universities in the nation. So your graduate studies will be perfect here. What else do you want to know? Please give me specifics. And I’ll fill you in. Also, Bill Roberts is at UF finishing his Ph.D., I believe! So you have a member of the T-mag staff in town! As for the city, it’s nice. It’s clean, very suburban. Downtown is cool if you like barhopping and going to clubs. There are many things to do in town from clubbing, dining, theater, movies, and fitness. So let me know what else you want to know, and I’ll do my best to help you out.

I think UF is a very good place to get your graduate degree. But, with all graduate programs in the sciences (and many other fields) the most important things are who your adviser is, in other words, what professor you work for; and the department you’re in. The university is of secondary importance. In fact, once in the program, you have about zero to do with the university administration or anything in the university outside your own department (exclusive of outside coursework required by your department, but again, this isn’t the university as a whole, but rather the specific outside departments you’ll be trained by.)

For example, in my program, besides my own
department, the strengths of other UF departments in organic chemistry and pharmacology was important.

You also should consider stipend, percent
tuition paid etc. A program you can’t stay
in, for financial reasons, is the wrong
program.