T Nation

Unexplained Gains?

Okay, so noob here, this is like my third post, but at least I've used quite a few forums before and am a long time lurker.

So, here's my situation. I've been lifting since 7th grade football offseason. Made pretty good gains for several years after, hitting a plateau senior year at 320 on bench at 235 pounds bodyweight. I was stuck there for a really long time. I've been lifting on and off since graduating and stayed at roughly the same maxes (bench 320, squat 425). Then I dieted down to 195 (bench 295, squat 385) and have been slowing building back up to my current weight of 205-210 depending on the day.

Over the last six weeks or so, I've been awesome gains, but I haven't been doing anything that I can think might cause them. I eat close to a gram of protein per pound of bodyweight but have always done that. Sleep 6-8 hours per night most nights (4 or so if I procrastinate on a paper). I haven't been following a specific program, just lifting how I feel (I know not the best idea, but this is a hobby now; I'm no longer in competitive sports). So, over the course of about six weeks I've gone from about 315 bench to 335. I can do 295 for five reps, did maybe 2 before. Squatted 410 for seven reps last workout. 405 for seven the time before that. My squat max has gone from 425 to at least 465 (maxed about 2 weeks ago, thats 10 pounds per week!)

I'm not trying to toot my own horn or anything, and I'm really enjoying this. Anyone had a dramatic, unexplained increase in their strength? I want to know what I'm getting right so that I can hopefully replicated this in the future. Thanks in advance for the replies :slightly_smiling:

Sometimes strengh gains are really unpredictible and just happen out of nowhere with no good logical explanation. I once had my bench max go up by like 40lbs in a short period of time with no change in training or diet or anything.

+1