Uneven Strength Right vs Left

I have searched both for articles and forum posts here. I have seen some with uneven appearance, but that’s, not my question. I am not a newbie lifter. Yes, gear. My form is good. I am making improvements to the point that the weight feels light in my right hand, but a hard lift for the left. This is not just chest, but that whole side of my body. I have tried extra reps on left, negatives on left to no avail. I had a very serious accident a few years ago. I know that the brain plays a roll in strength (beyond mental preparation). I did have some head trauma etc.

I would like to know if anyone has seen this, or experienced it. If so, please tell me about you’re outcome. If not, I will still take and constructive advice.

Thanks all!!

I have a quite severe leg length discrepancy (not anatomical) that has presented quite a set of challenges on my strength career. I also sustained a pretty nasty injury to my right leg in 2014 that resulted in me not being able to use my right leg for about a month, and only gaining 100% back after about 4-5 months.

These two issues surfaced a plethora of weaknesses and imbalances that I cope with daily. One of the things I’ve done is steeped myself in understanding anatomy and biomechanics (I am in school for PT, but even before I was very curious); this, coupled with literal incessant trial and error with training and prehabilitation, has given me the ability to understand how to maximize hypertrophy and strength capacity in most settings. Given, it’s not perfect…far from it. It’s a learning process.

Since you’ve provided vague information, it’s too hard to give a direct answer, but as far as training either which side, I’d advise not doing more reps, but simply not training one side at all on a given exercise. If your issue is neurological and dealing with the brain or spine, it’s out of my wheelhouse and everything I said is probably meaningless lol.

1 Like