Unbelievable!

http://www.click2houston.com/entertainment/7575856/detail.html

This blows me away, 1 in 1000 people can’t name the first amendment freedoms.
I remember back when I was a freshman in college, a prof having the class name all of the Brady Bunch family (including the dog), but no one knew more than two supreme court justices. This I can kind of understand, but one in one thousand not knowing our basic freedoms? I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, but I guess I am.

You mean the answer is not “freedom fries” and “freedom toasts?”

You have the right to remain silent?

[quote]Kayrob wrote:
http://www.click2houston.com/entertainment/7575856/detail.html

This blows me away, 1 in 1000 people can’t name the first amendment freedoms.
I remember back when I was a freshman in college, a prof having the class name all of the Brady Bunch family (including the dog), but no one knew more than two supreme court justices.

This I can kind of understand, but one in one thousand not knowing our basic freedoms? I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, but I guess I am.[/quote]

Why, this is SHOCKING! Simply shocking…and to think we are supposed to be EVOLVING…?

Seriously, if you look at some books and articles from 100 years ago or so written for the average guy, you would see that we have certainly “dumbed down” as a society. Watching TV 2-4 hours a day, as many Americans do, leave little time for more mind expanding pursuits such as reading.

Therefore I am not surprised at all. In fact, there are many people who cannot even name who their elected officals are, while they could easily name the most popular movie, actor, etc.

[quote]vroom wrote:
You have the right to remain silent?[/quote]

The right to remain silent is inferred from the fourth admendment.

Wasn’t there an issue a few years ago where some kids couldn’t even point out America on a globe?