T Nation

ulceritive colitis and creatine

Hello every one, I was recently diagnosed with a mild case of ulcerative colitis, I haven?t been to the gym for about a month, and prior to my colitis my pancreas was inflamed, resulting to no protein/fat intake. So basically I?m just getting better and want to start training again. I was wondering if it would be ok to take creatine and protein shakes although I have ulcerative colitis, your help would be much appreciated.

I have a medically controlled case of colitis that I've been battling for about 6 years now. I haven't had a flare-up in over 2 years. I'm on sulfasalazine continuously, and take a short course of prednisone for flare-ups.

Over time, you'll figure out what your triggers are. Mine is basically a few nights of way too little sleep. If I get less than 4 hours a noght for 4 nights in a row, I can pretty much guarantee I'll have at least a mild flare-up within 5 days. Once you learn your triggers, it's fairly easy to control.

Current quality of creatine is much better than just a few years ago (when "intestinal distress" was common). You MAY be able to get away with it. But I wouldn't try to start it until you're stable. Then start on low dosages and guage your reactions. If you see ANY signs of smptoms, discontinue immediately.

Protein shakes shouldn't be any problem.

Ask your doctor.

Colitis alone is no reason to avoid protein. But don't go overboard. Protein shakes tend to speed digestive processes, a problem you may already have to deal with.

Lay off the creatine.

Adam, UC may be a bit beyond the scope of the T/N forum. Not that we don't want to help, but UC "triggers" vary from person to person. What one can handle will cause a flare-up in another. Your needs for protein are probably higher than the average athlete because of all the repair and rebuilding going on and also because of transit times during flare-ups. But some protein sources may aggravate your condition rather than help it.