Tykraus7's Rippetoe's Log

Well I’m not a beginner, perse. I’ve been lifting on and off for a few years, seriously for about a year. I’m doing this because I’m disappointed in my strength levels. I started yesterday, which was Saturday. I know it was a weird day to start on but it doesn’t really matter.

Saturday

Squat 225 3x5
Bench 205 3x5
Deadlift 245 1x5
Chins 1x8 with a 10 lb weight.

Everything felt too easy but I didn’t want to start out too high and stall early.

Today’s workout went pretty well…

Squats - 235 for 3x5
Military press - 90 3x5
rows - 125 3x5
chins - body weight 9 reps then 8 reps
weighted abs on a decline: go down, hold 5 seconds at parallel then go back up…10 reps

Another good work out today…

Squat - 245 3x5
Bench - 215 3x5
Deadlift - 260 1x5
Dips - body weight 2x12
abs - 15 1x15

I can’t believe I haven’t seen your log before …

I’m in the same situation as you. I lifted consistently HIT style all last year with sub-par results. Decided to go the strength route. In fact, our stats are fairly identical. Except I have 40 lbs on you.

I’m on my fifth week of Rippetoe. Getting pretty good results … I’m increasing each workout. My log is “The Dude’s Rippetoe Log” in the Beginner section.

[quote]TheDudeAbides wrote:
I can’t believe I haven’t seen your log before …

I’m in the same situation as you. I lifted consistently HIT style all last year with sub-par results. Decided to go the strength route. In fact, our stats are fairly identical. Except I have 40 lbs on you.

I’m on my fifth week of Rippetoe. Getting pretty good results … I’m increasing each workout. My log is “The Dude’s Rippetoe Log” in the Beginner section.[/quote]

Wow still increasing after 5 weeks? That is encouraging for someone who has some experience. I am just trying to get as strong as I possibly can because I know with that strength comes size.

[quote]tykraus7 wrote: