T Nation

Two Years, Lots of Lessons Learnt

DISCLAIMER: This is not a post meant to say wow look at that transformation, its a work in progress that I'm constantly trying improve. I'd like to thank everyone for contributing both in the forums and the authors here, I've learnt SO MUCH stuff, its incredible. If theres one person that I'd have to mention though, its definitely Christian Thibaudeau.

His output and wealth of information is something as a trainer, I look up to and can only hope to emulate one day. Below is the timeline of the transformation.

Stats
Skinny (October 2007): 155 pounds
Fat (May 2008): 212 pounds
Now (June 2009): 165 pounds

Wow its crazy to believe its been a full two years since I first started training. The lessons I've learnt in that time have been immense ( http://www.omarisuf.com/2009/08/12/twelve-week-body-transformation-keys-to-a-successful-transformation/ ) and its a constant work in progress.

When you are fit, everyone assumes that you always were that way.
Heres the skinny, I was, very, and then I got fat, very, and now, I`m neither.

When I was young, I was very active. Soccer, swimming, baseball, track and field; you name it, I was in it. Then suddenly with high school and other activity, exercise took a backseat in my life. Big mistake. I felt sluggish everyday with no energy. I remember being seventeen, waking up and feeling like a zombie.

I`d skip breakfast, grabbing a bowl of cereal in the morning if I was lucky (of course I chose high-fiber Raisin Bran!), eat a small lunch (a turkey sandwich!) and at night, dinner was a toss-up between pasta, and something random (usually a piece of cheese and some snacks). Frustrated by my lack of energy, I decided to increase my exercise. I went to my local track and tried to do a few laps and nearly fainted; I had no energy.