Two Newbie Questions

At the risk of sounding totally fucking stupid: when guys post here that they bench 200 or 400 or whatever, does that mean that they are lifting a total of 200 or whatever pounds, i.e, that each side of the bar bell has 100 lbs on it, or is the weight of the barbell factored into it? Let me ask this another way: I bench with two 50 lb plates on either side of the bar bell. So am I benching 100 lbs?

Another question: I’m tall – 6’3". My sense is that some exercises, chin ups and dips especially, are simply harder. And it seems that shorter and mid-range guys seem to bulk up more quickly – they seem more beefy and compact. Of course every now and again this theory is blown away when I see a tall, really built guy at the gym. But for you more experienced/serious lifters: am I right that bulking up is harder for taller men?

I just started lifting about a year and a half ago, and now am doing it with a bit more focus – and really like The New Rules of Lifting (thoughts? Good program? I like it’s holistic approach and focus on functional exercise. I’m 48, have two kids and a busy job, so am limited in how much I can put into my lifting program, but am determined to be fit. I work out 6 days/week, alternating between running 45 minutes and lifting days. I could probably do more intense workouts, but I’ve got so much other stuff to do that it’s hard.

Thanks bros.

They are referencing total poundage for instance 135 would be a 45 lb bar and a 45 lb plate on each side. It takes more power for a guy with longer bones (if the 2 guys weigh the same) to do chins and dips. Power is a function of force and distance so if u r covering more distance it takes more power.