Turning Obsession Into Progress

At the time of this first log entry I am a junior mechanical engineering student that loves to do all kinds of random nonsense from hunting and hiking to baking. That being said, my goals have always been scattered, and I have always swung back and forth between wanting nothing but pure strength or pure size. Thus, my programming has lead to me switching back and forth between the two about a month at a time… for the past 6ish years.

This indecision has lead to poor planning and relatively zero results. Since I love working out with all my young thumping heart, I have never given up, and have just strived harder to see progress. I think all my shortcomings can point back to impatience with achieving my goals.

Another major setback was my lack of proper nutrition. I never (and I mean never) drank water (or any other fluids for that matter) and I ate only crappy foods. However, over the past year, I’ve begun eating right, and have seen my progress both in size and strength increase dramatically. I’ve been able to put on size relatively well, but strength is still a struggle.

P.S. My triceps suck

So the plan now is to continue to eat well and actually stick to a workout.

Current lifts at 5’11"/200lbs/12%BF:
Squat - 8RM@195
Bench - 8RM@205
Deadlift - 6RM@225
Pullup - 5RM@245 (BW + 45lb)

Current Goals:
Squat - 5RM@250
Bench - 5RM@235
Deadlift - 5RM@275
Pullup - 5RM@260
Stationary Bike - 2miles in 5min
Be a physically capable human

The plan for June 2019 to September 2019:

Workout:

Each Cycle will be days 1-5
Day 1:
Squat - 5x5
DB Press - 3x6-10
Tricep Pushdowns - 2x6-10
Ab Wheel - 2x8-15

Day 2:
Pullup - 5x5
DB Forward Lunge - 3x6-10
Close Grip Bench Press - 2x6-10
Battle Ropes - 3x30s

Day 3:
Deadlift - 5x5
Facepull - 3x6-10
DB Extensions - 2x6-10
Russian Twists - 2x20-40

Day 4:
Bench - 5x5
RDL - 3x6-10
Dips - 2x6-10
Stationary Bike - 5minutes as many miles as possible
*or C2 Rower - 3x100m as fast as possible

Day 5: