T Nation

Trying to Learn to Power Clean

Hey guys this week I have been attempting to learn to power clean.

Everyday I have done 5 sets of 3 reps at 40kg and do not plan on increasing the weight until i have sufficiently good form.

so on that note is there anything I should be working on?

I'm no expert but i would say:

1. Get your hips lower when in starting position
  2. Think "weight on the heels"
  3. You shouldn't chase the bar with your hips and going so much in front of you, bar should be closer to your body when passed the knees (this will be ok when "the weight is on the heels"
  4. You are catching the bar with your hands, and then landing it on your chest. Your back doesn't seem ok when you are catching the bar (because the bar is too far away, i think). I guess you are not doing heavy front squats - you should as they are likely gonna learn you how to properly catch/rack the bar.

Well, if i said something wrong, someone more experienced is gonna correct me.

Best regards

You're missing the 'power' part of power clean. These are like fast reverse curls almost. You're getting absolutely no hip drive. Watch some videos of power cleans on youtube, or CT's videos, and compare them to what you're doing. Your hips are the most important part of the movement, that's where you generate your power. I know this isn't a great explanation of what to do, so maybe someone else can help, but I can definitely see what you're NOT doing. The movement should look athletic, and this looks awkward.

NNY: I've been told I have had the same problem on deadlifts with my hips being too high so will definitely correct this. And no I havent been doing heavy front squats but I have worked up to doing 5x5 at 60kg with them so I guess it will take time.

Flip Collar: Thank you for your input and I will look to working on that, when I go home for the summer I know one of the trainers will help me learn better but it's going to be a few weeks before then.